Westwood’s 2013-2014 National Junior Beta Club

posted Feb 28, 2014, 8:11 AM by ACSD Webmaster

Fifty-one students were inducted into the National Junior Beta Club of Westwood Elementary School on Tuesday, February 18, 2013, in a formal.  These students met the requirements of: 1) a GPR of 91 and above without accommodations for the first semester of the fifth grade; 2) on grade level in all subjects; 3) 15 out of 20 points on a teacher rating scale of attitude, character, citizenship, dependability, and leadership; and 4) passing all areas on the statewide test, SC PASS. Members received a pin, certificate, membership card, and access to the National Beta Club website along with its privileges. Sponsors of the Beta Club are Sandy Rowland Scott, Professional School Counselor; Jessica Brown, 3rd grade teacher; and Jenni Hedden, Tena Smith, Kristin Hughes, and Jennifer Smith - 5th grade teachers.   


[Beta Members] Pictured in the photo above are members of  the Westwood Elementary 2013-2014 National Junior Beta Club:  (row 1) Landon Smith, Si’Niyah Johnson, Jesalyn Vinkemulder, Jalisa Paul, Amanda Boyd, Brady Wilson, Davis Sutherland, Jake Adams, Emma Monroe, Abby Whaley, Lynde Beaver, Cruz Temple; (row 2) Alec Fisher, Anna Beth Smith, Bethany Ricketts, Madison Pruitt, Alexis Hill, DJ Freese, Christian Crocker, Luke Evans, , Janessa Haddon, Kelis Clark, Ambria Gilliard, Ke,Shunna Morton, Caleb Simpson, Thomas Beauford, Evan Sellars, Seth Griffin; (row 3) Ja’Niah Settles, Za’Laybria Jackson, Matthew Hughes, Cheyenne McConnell, Savanna McConnell, Nyla Nickles, Brianna Moore, Claire Hughes, Hakeria Patterson, Matthew Hall, Brooks Hanna, Caroline Scott, Kristen Smith, Mike Chen; (row 4) Bailey Sumner, Tequasia Wideman, Anna Grace Kuenzer, Katie Rose Hill, Reghan Steifle, Gracey Thomasson, John Gilchrist. Absent from photo were Phillip Hedden and Lewis Cowart.


[Beta Officers] The Officers of the Westwood Elementary National Junior Beta Club are (l to r): Amanda Boyd – Treasurer, Caroline Scott – Secretary, Kristen Smith – Vice-President, and Phillip Hedden – President.